Yesterday, We Talked for Five Hours

Promises…                                  yesterday we talked   

You never intended to keep,

         like your words,

                 hung in the air.

I knew you were lying

        when you said them

                   as surely

                   as you did, too.

You wanted desperately

                   to keep our dreams alive

    to have me stay forever 

              so… 

you kept making

           all those promises…

    you never intended to keep.

 All rights reserved.  ©2009 by Sara Fryd

10 thoughts on “Yesterday, We Talked for Five Hours

  1. I really like the way you formatted this, it reminds me a little of being on a roller coaster, or of waffling back and forth between lies and true intentions.

  2. but I love unicorns and fairies. A pot of gold sounds pretty good too. Maybe we believe lies long enough to find inspiration for new dreams?

  3. Sara, I absolutely love your poetry. The ones about lovers who cannot be together are especially poignant and, I am sure, touch home with a lot of people. Thanks for sharing so much of yourself!

    • Sara, sorry so late in replying, I am still finding my way around this new world!! In answer, Tommy is my pen name and I use it only on my blog and Twitter. I have found you on FB and have sent a friend request from my real name, Gary Perdue. Great to meet and connect with you!!

  4. Something about this smacks me. I think it’s the idea that “you wanted me to stay so you kept lying.”

    The poem is lovely and stark in a way, kind of wistful. Very well done, dear. 🙂

  5. like the way the structure serves and makes this such a strong read – all that we know and don’t or won’t in a few short lines. Do you write several poem a day?

  6. Sorry I haven’t posted in a while, catching up. But you…. you amaze me Sara. You know just what to say and how to say it. Amazing!

Comments are closed.