Nutrition

We were malnourishedkiss on beach

Devouring each other like hungry children

          inhaling snacks

               their first day of school.

You said we had reached our quota

          it was only October.

We laughed so hard we cried.

It hurt too much to separate our bodies.

It hurt too much to keep them together.

I cried every time you shut my front door.

I thought I’d die if I never saw you again.

I thought I’d die if I did.

Feelings,

like separating velcro,

          never more than stolen moments

               at someone else’s expense. 

You were better than Cherry Garcia,

though not as fattening.

The best vacation I’ve ever been on

On icy Saturdays in November

When the beach heals my heart and nourishes my soul.

I play at solitaire

          throwing pennies in waves

making wishes on clouds

and dreaming dreams that I know

          will never come true.

All rights reserved.  ©2009 by Sara Fryd 

7 thoughts on “Nutrition

  1. Velcro, it is weird how many things feel like that sound. That entire find you, find me, lose me, lose you circle is emotional and you captured it well. Now cherry garcia might be less satisfying but it tends to stay in the freezer until retrieved.

  2. The nice part is cherry garcia doesn’t give you those eyes, or those words you don’t want to hear, but yet you do. 🙂 This one really touched me, something all too familiar of a summer fling long ago. You never cease to reach those parts of me forgotten and stored away. Always a pleasure.

  3. *Sigh* Wow. Beaches in November only sealed the beauty of this piece for me. What a great draw of contrasts! What a great way to capture the heat of “I’ll die if I don’t see you, die if I do” which comes with those hot, burning emotions. Awesome.

    Hope your arm feels better.

  4. hah, lovely, lovely lovely piece, i has been a long time since i flew back here. Happy New Year Sara. Have a blessed year.

Comments are closed.