Hope Arrives at Daylight

I walked alone upon a road beside a hilllight_at_the_end_of_the_tunnel_l

Where I saw an open grave lying still

All alone beneath a tree, when I came near

The darkness grew, took my sight, left the fear

For there, right there, in front of me

There was my name, inscribed on stone,

          beneath the tree.

Unsure, I tripped, I grasped for land

I grabbed at air, I brushed her hand

Then face to face I came with her, I couldn’t see

I knew not buried yet, the her was me.

She hugged me long, whispered, “Please

don’t cry.  I’ve come to talk, to say good bye.

It’s time for me to go, I’ve done my best.

You’ve grown so much, passed every test.

You’re wiser now, courageous, strong.

I’m tired, it’s time for me to move along. 

I know the journey left in front of you,

Is full of love and stories, too.”

I hugged her back, she felt so warm.

She said, “It’s time to go, you’re on your own.

I have to go, I’ve done my thing.

Lay me to rest next to the spring.

Go on your way and never fear.
The world is warm, your path is clear.”

I turned to face where she had gone,

And saw instead a glowing dawn.

The night had passed, the world was new.

I’d lost myself and found me too.

 

All rights reserved.  ©2009 by Sara Fryd

9 thoughts on “Hope Arrives at Daylight

    • This was written June 1994. Rock Slice yesterday morning. Didn’t write a short story until 1995. Nope, have not forgotten. You’re a dear heart, thank you for your kindness and generosity.

  1. For as many times as your work takes my breathaway I may have to get an inhaler. 🙂 Great work as always sara

  2. This was such a treat! I love that line: “I’d lost myself and found me too.”

    Wow… that is the best kind of search and rescue mission ever. Kind of reminds me of the Tao… the doing without doing.

Comments are closed.