Finding Your Soul

Soul

 

Pieces of  me

            are falling away

Little bits, I disavowed one day

            when I denied

            I had feelings,

When I had no time

            to hurt or cry.

Pieces not dealt with

            or honored,

As if I had lifetimes

            to recapture

            this memory

            or that little shred of myself.

Pieces are falling

            like a desert rain

            or a plains flood,

            gushing from the dam

            of a fractured soul

            cracked so long ago

            held tightly

            by the glue of denial.

No longer needed

Tiny pieces…

 Torn from my grasp,

            washed away by words

            poured out on paper

then left to dry.

5 thoughts on “Finding Your Soul

  1. Thank you for sharing your gorgeous poem. It is so delightful, when I get to the end I find myself scrolling back up to start reading again !

  2. Pieces not dealt with

    or honored,

    As if I had lifetimes

    to recapture

    this memory

    or that little shred of myself.

    These lines made me pause and reflect. Yes, I have those pieces too…I suppose we all do, and they do need to be dealt with and honored before we can truly release them and let them go. This is wonderful.

  3. Beautifully written Sara.
    I suppose I’ll never deal with the pieces of the past … Personally I can’t go back there.

    • I do know that ‘out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaketh’ … obviously you have a very tender heart Sara.

  4. the phrase “glue of denial” really brought me to attention – I love going back into the past espisodes of my life and discovering that most of the characters were so much more than I gave credit for at the time – through writing everyone grows more whole somehow. Lovely sense the poet gives us here of letting gooo – the unnedded slipping away.

Comments are closed.