Egos

egos          Why is it

                   some men need to be

          played like violins

                   to accomplish

          the same task

        one could get a woman to do

                   merely by asking?

         

           Seems like such a

                   waste of energy

          to have to massage egos,

                   and climb walls

                   before getting to the

                   truth of it all.

          Competition excites

                   challenges for a while,

          Though in the end it burns bridges

                   and breaks hearts.

          When ultimately

                   aren’t we all…

                                    …on the same side?

 

All rights reserved.  ©2009 by Sara Fryd

5 thoughts on “Egos

  1. We’re all supposed to be on the same side … thinking about broken hearts … that is something not exclusive to women.

    Like

  2. Very interesting. I’ve heard this before, and I often stop and wonder if I’m the same way. I don’t think so, but then, I’m inside my own headspace and can’t be trusted to be objective. I know in work situations I don’t have to be coaxed to do things. That tends to get contractors laid off. 😉

    Like

  3. This was especially interesting in light of your comment above… so nice to know the history. What a very interesing work experience you had! And what a brilliant synopsis of it.

    Like

  4. It’s funny that when I read this poem, it seemed such an apt generalization of interactions, it didn’t occur to me to place it in a specific context, like work or romance.

    I wanted to thank you for your welcome to wordpress and your comments about autumn goodness. Clearly Alex comes by his writing talent honestly as it seems to run in the family.

    Like

Comments are closed.