Crusty Lady

They say you pick your friends to be a mirrorBoots

   Then I must have a side that’s warm and free

Look at me in navy skirts with parochial blouses

Long flowing skirts in flowers of spring is what she sees

For all my shyness she’s outgoing, an explorer

Where my weaknesses lie, she becomes strong

She listens to all of my words unspoken

Never judging my feelings as wrong 

Underneath she’s a bowl of green jello

The smallest injustice, brings her to her knees

Though she’ll tell you she’s a crusty old lady

Inside she’s a red gingham cowgirl like me

 

All rights reserved.  ©2009 by Sara Fryd

3 thoughts on “Crusty Lady

  1. Oooh, look at the booooots!

    What a sweet testimony to your friend. We should all be so lucky to have someone like that in our lives. 🙂 We’re even more blessed if that someone is family.

Comments are closed.