Courage is Writing a Resume, Again

I’ve lost my job… resume

As if somehow

I’ve misplaced a part of my life

I now have to find

Just around the next corner.

So I become still, quiet

Trying to remember

Writing accomplishments

About what I’ve done

For so many years

I could do it with my eyes closed.

What am I afraid of?

Feelings, I guess…

Here I am ten or eleven years old

Again, and yet another grown-up

Telling me that I’m not worthy enough

Or talented enough

Or courageous enough.                              

I’ll show them, those that doubt.

The ones that don’t understand

The incredible painting that is me!

This time I’ll paint a picture on paper.

I’ll use a typewriter instead of crayons

A computer instead of paints.

But in my heart I’ll know

That I’m a rainbow after a storm

A bright shinning star

On a crisp winter night.

And I’ll begin again

To share with strangers

The wondrous story that is me.

2 thoughts on “Courage is Writing a Resume, Again

  1. Sara, this resonated with me, and I am sure it will with many others. Writing my resume was without a doubt one of the hardest tasks I have had to date. I dreaded every second of it.
    This is a great post…thanks for sharing.

  2. You are so kind, Sara. My name is Danielle, and I think your poetry is wonderful:) I admire your spirit and your poems stick with me. I believe there is a reason for everything, so perhaps the reason for your loss was to spur you to share your talent. Please keep sharing!

    I’d like to add you to my blogroll, if that’s okay, so I can point others toward you. You can find my little plot of cyberspace by clicking on my name…

    Have a beautiful day:)
    D

Comments are closed.