Comfort Food

Maple, oak, aspen are going to sleep till springcomfort food

Leaving behind a comforter of leaves

In colors created by angels above the clouds

Who sneak down before dawn

With brushes held in pockets in their wings

Dropping leaves of scarlet, tangerine, and lemon

Leaves to warm the roots below, the earth above

Even Sandia Mountain is a darker shade

Of violet-laced magenta at twilight

Than it is during April’s break of dawn

“…how God how? How do you mix cerulean skies?”

How do you create lavender stones?”

No audible answers from the heavens this time

Revealing what I know and haven’t seen before this day

Time to view the world again with new eyes

Or maybe a transplanted heart

Received from friends who chose to love me

Even when I couldn’t love myself

Seeing out my window through a heart of joy

Belies the view

When did my heart grow wings?

When did my eyes change colors?

When did I learn to see?

When did the air become chilled like Riesling?

When did the mood become warm like chocolate?

When did Autumn become the comfort food

That filled my soul?

 

All rights reserved.  ©2009 by Sara Fryd

8 thoughts on “Comfort Food

  1. Wonderful wording, Sara! Beautiful and flowing, depicting the wonder of the display of autumn. A fantastic photo to go with it, adding punctuation to the marvelous expression.

  2. Isn’t it amazing how you just seem to wake up one day and things are different somehow? You captured that beautifully!

    And that picture is totally gasp-worthy. I so want to go there!

  3. That’s it… this is my favorite poem of yours, hands down! This is one I would like to frame and pin on the wall, one that I might mediate on before bed at night. I loved that line: “When did the air become chilled like Riesling…”

    There must be something in this autumn air, for I was thinking such similar thoughts of late. Only mine had no chocolate or Riesling. 🙂

  4. Not to intrude on your blog Sara; in reading you eloquent piece, Comfort Food, I couldn’t help reflect on some passages from the Bible, in that God gave us these beautiful signs of the seasons. Anyway I came across these verses in Job, and if you’ll suffer me to post on this comment…

    Hast thou perceived the breadth of the earth? declare if thou knowest it all.

    Where is the way where light dwelleth? and as for darkness, where is the place thereof,

    That thou shouldest take it to the bound thereof, and that thou shouldest know the paths to the house thereof?

    Knowest thou it, because thou wast then born? or because the number of thy days is great?

    Hast thou entered into the treasures of the snow? or hast thou seen the treasures of the hail,

    Which I have reserved against the time of trouble, against the day of battle and war?

    By what way is the light parted, which scattereth the east wind upon the earth?

    As I said, I don’t want to intrude; I just find writings such as yours facinating.
    Hoping you and yours are having a good week.

Comments are closed.