Base Camp

You asked for someone KILIMANJARO

To make base camp with

So we could climb mountains

And I had never

Climbed to the third floor

Of the building where I lived

Let alone Kilimanjaro with a man

You offered courage, strength

Songs as slow as molasses sap

Running from a tree in a cup

Joy, rich as dark chocolate melting

Melting in a pan

Heating with cinnamon and milk

I heard saxophone music playing

Wafting down

Somewhere from the third floor

And I was certain I might need

To learn to climb stairs

After all

 

All rights reserved.  ©2009 by Sara Fryd

10 thoughts on “Base Camp

  1. Oh my goodness what you do with the inspiration gifted you by others. You captured the essence of B and placed him upstairs. Beautiful sweet Sara – your words and the capture.

  2. mmmmmmmm moment divine
    men like this do walk the earth
    happy for your bliss…

    That is gorgeous. You set me off on a flight of fancy.

    Thank You! Namaste. 🙂

  3. I think you awoke all my senses with this one, Sara! Saxophone music would be enough to get my behind moving up some stairs!

    And now, for some rich chocolate milk… 🙂

  4. Great comparison there dear! Stairs, mountains, fears – we always need to learn to overcome something, and you described it well. 🙂

    But, I am quite content with my fear of spiders, just so you know. 😉

Comments are closed.