All of Them Were You

all of them were you

I’ve loved a lot of men

you know…

Some of them were true.

I’ve loved a lot of men

you know…

Though none like I loved you.

Some loved me back

some didn’t care.

One kissed my nose

then touched my hair.

Questions asked…

then left unanswered

Who came before?

Were they romantic?

Why is it men have such needs to know?

Who came before?

Then how many?

What of your thoughts?

Now here’s a penny…

I’m not a contest or a prize.

Only female…

often unwise…

Why who I’ve been with should it matter?

I’ve been alone more than together.

Please, stop questioning

what I can not answer.

I’ll love you now until September.

For when the leaves begin to fall

I may not love you

then

at all…

All rights reserved.  ©2009 by Sara Fryd


4 thoughts on “All of Them Were You

  1. OH, the questioning, need-to-know mind of men. I’m guilty of this, and only the love of my wife has shown me how little it matters what came before.

    Well done, Sara!

  2. Oh, those questioning men! LOL. I just loved the way you wrote this… the pacing… It captured that element perfectly.

    And what about those double questions? You know… like I tell him something and then, two minutes later, I get the same question. Just makes me want to laugh and pull my hair out at the same time. 🙂

Comments are closed.