How Old Are You?

I live at Skyline Gateway, an apartment complex of 250 units. People are moving in and out daily. It’s hard to keep track some days. My dogs love little kids, so I take them out frequently.

One morning an adorable whirlwind of a little blond girl comes running over waving and yelling, “Hi, what’s your name? I’m Sadie and I’m 4 years old. That’s my sister Maddie and she’s 6 years old. That’s my Mom on the phone over there and she’s 27. How old are you?”

I smiled at her, stuck out my hand and said, “Hi, I’m Sara and I’m 105.” Her eyeballs started spinning as her brain was trying to add all the way to one hundred and five.

Then she screamed to her Mom. “Mom, that lady over there is a 105.”

I think they heard her in Sedona, a couple hundred miles away.

© 2017 by Sara Fryd

 

